Strength

You walked away as I stood by the window,

we had been talking as she walked by,

the beautiful one

bouncing long curly hair,

her perfect body

her perfect smile

and I watched you

as you watched her

and the look in your eyes spoke volumes

that did not need to be uttered,

it was enough.

you walked away to catch up to her

leaving me looking in the mirror

at the reflection,

no beautiful hair

no supermodel body

but in the mind

the truth was there,

I too could walk away now and not look back

as life wasn’t about you anymore

or what I thought was love,

life was about being good enough for me

for being strong enough to let you go

to know I was worth more

than you would ever know.

I looked out the window with a slight smile,

yes,

yes,

I am not her

I am me

and that is all that matters.

goodbye I whispered to the empty room,

closing the door

I walked away head held high.

Published by

InfiniteZip

I am a sometimes poet on a quest to master the universe of my mind. My writing runs the gamut of nature, off beat, life and basically the world as I see it through the windows of my eyes. Welcome to my blog. Sit a spell in your big comfy armchair or favorite spot and read for a while if it suits and don't forget to leave a comment to let me know who you are and all that jazz. Looking forward to what each day brings and catch you on the flip side of the stars. Peace and blessings.

2 thoughts on “Strength”

Comments are letters of love, please share yours...

