Universal joy

I can close my eyes
Envisioning you as a child,
Sweet girl in awe
Of the magic of the world,
Hair blowing in the summer breeze
And a smile lighting your face
Like human sunshine.
I see you with your creatures
Your pretty butterflies
You curiosity at all that moves
That lives.
We are not children any longer
Yet in our mind that spirit remains,
remembrance of the simple times
When the smallest thing filled
Our endless heart.
Time crashes down
And years go by
We wonder sometimes
What happened to that feeling,
That smile,
Those dreams?
How can we return?
I close my eyes and picture you there
Still a child,
Still so very content,
Not yet wounded
Spirit still so strong
And maybe that’s enough to make it so,
When we take back control
When we look in the mirror and smile,
Telling ourselves “not today”
Today I will rise
I will be open to the skies
To the songs of angels
To the words of poets
To the thread that connects us all,
And I will feel grateful
To breathe the air this moment
And the next
And I will tell myself yes,
This is just enough right here,
Right now,
And I will open my eyes again
And walk with my head high
And say to you all
Thank you friends
For being a part of it all,
Of believing when I couldn’t
And for smiles and stars sent
Which I hold so tight
My heart is overflowing
And I am young and joyful
Once again.

Thoughts after reading some lovely blogs by old and new friends and seeing this photo and picturing a world in which we are all innocent again. Not wounded by the people and circumstances this world sometimes gives us, but hopeful and filled with joy and wonder once more.

Published by

InfiniteZip

I am a sometimes poet on a quest to master the universe of my mind. My writing runs the gamut of nature, off beat, life and basically the world as I see it through the windows of my eyes. Welcome to my blog. Sit a spell in your big comfy armchair or favorite spot and read for a while if it suits and don't forget to leave a comment to let me know who you are and all that jazz. Looking forward to what each day brings and catch you on the flip side of the stars. Peace and blessings.

11 thoughts on “Universal joy”

Comments are letters of love, please share yours...

