The silent entry

Gathering together
Necessary things
To put it all together
Memories from yesterday
Resurfacing once more,
Precious tokens
Hung with care.
The winter wind moves through
The fog descends
Silver smoky image
Heavy and falling
I stand in the mist
Thankful.
My thoughts drift to yesterday
To past seasons,
And to strange moments of wonder,
Doors opening for no reason
I bid entrance to the familiar
Welcoming with a smile
The air that rushes in
Ushering no one.
We call them our ghosts of Christmas
And it’s been a long time since
They’ve stopped by,
But it leaves a quiet joy
And warmth of the heart to know
In a way we are together yet again.

Today I had gone out and made sure the front door was latched. Home alone hauling in bins of decorations and ornaments. I went out the back door with the dogs to let them run a bit and play in the fog and when I returned into the house, the front door stood wide open(the one I had specifically latched). One cat sat in the door and the other two behind her, Watching the outside calmly.
This only happens during Christmas season and it left me so much joy to know “our ghosts of Christmas” had returned.

Published by

InfiniteZip

I am a sometimes poet on a quest to master the universe of my mind. My writing runs the gamut of nature, off beat, life and basically the world as I see it through the windows of my eyes. Welcome to my blog. Sit a spell in your big comfy armchair or favorite spot and read for a while if it suits and don't forget to leave a comment to let me know who you are and all that jazz. Looking forward to what each day brings and catch you on the flip side of the stars. Peace and blessings.

14 thoughts on “The silent entry”

  1. Hello, I am Madhava Rao, from the country INDIA.
    The Silent Entry – good expression. The saying goes, `our mind must be like an empty glass’ to fill good and empty the evil/bad’. I feel that when Christmas comes all the goodness comes in and all the evil goes out. May be the ghosts of Christmas opened the closed door and trying to get out of the house !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I like that, it is a happy house….with all the pets the doors are open closed on a minute to minute to basis….I think if the evil was here…it would be running from the joy of peaceful happiness 😊 or from the playful cats and dogs☺️ peace and blessings and I enjoyed your comment, visit often and have a great and amazing day . Kim

      Like

  2. Hi Infinitezip. christmas does not fill everybody with cheer memories and ghosts they fear! Thank you so much for liking all these poems ‘Time Is running Out, I Could Not Believe, Often, The Call, There Comes A Moment, Her Face and Moment!’ Be Safe and Well. Happy Christmas. The Foureyed Poet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I enjoyed it much more as a child, now it seems it’s all about what’s in it for me…..(and I don’t mean myself) but others….if I had my way id lock myself away and write in solitude, but alas, it’s not to be, but I do enjoy the reads I find on your blog my friend, no thanks needed. Kim

      Like

Comments are letters of love, please share yours...

