Fine things

Under a balmy sun filled sky
They came together
The variety of people
Quiet to boisterous
Beautiful to amazing,
A day of those who see
Of those that believe.
Feeling quite out-of-place
Thinking this is not for me
Not good enough
I do not belong
Amongst the fine ones present,
I was mere comfy diner fare,
Not gourmet by far
And he came to me
Arms wide open
And eyes alive
Soul on fire
And a smile that called for ray bans.
Suddenly seeing that I was so wrong
That this is where I needed to be,
The words all I needed to absorb,
Like platters of the finest cheese
Sips of the light to hearty wine
A place that became home
For too short of time.
Energy coursed through
The once tired and weary soul,
Greeting the sun
Chasing a nap afraid to miss
One single moment
Of this island bliss.
Walking and talking
Laughter and tears
But the beautiful friends created there,
Plane carried away
Far from the sun
Back to the ice
Back to the plain.
But something so magical happened
Between that first day and now
I see the faces
Photographs and lovely memories
And I am not alone,
And I am beautiful
And I am the finer things
I had desired,
All along deep within
Set free like the drawn out cork
And I flow free
In peace and love
As I wash down the last little drop,
More please from the bottle
Of never-ending happiness.
Cheers to the days
Sweet memory replays
And I shall drink to that.

To one of the first friends I met on my way to discover what lay below and most importantly uncovering what lay within. To Appio in deepest appreciation.

Published by

InfiniteZip

I am a sometimes poet on a quest to master the universe of my mind. My writing runs the gamut of nature, off beat, life and basically the world as I see it through the windows of my eyes. Welcome to my blog. Sit a spell in your big comfy armchair or favorite spot and read for a while if it suits and don't forget to leave a comment to let me know who you are and all that jazz. Looking forward to what each day brings and catch you on the flip side of the stars. Peace and blessings.

2 thoughts on “Fine things”

Comments are letters of love, please share yours...

