The dying season

Where the grass met the mound
thick clay dirt covering
cold below the warmth of sun
casting shadows
on life now gone.
Digging deep to place
the soul of season passed
winter to spring
and I feel alone
once again.
Daffodils fading placed upon
the thick stone covering open eyes
that no longer see
and I can still smell the essence
on my hands as I carried you,
your fragrance of sadness
of sickness and forever sleep,
or perhaps is it my fear
the scent of another goodbye.
The Jonquil grows higher
each passing day moves us
to sun rise and set
towards our calling to come
to be part of the earth
to be in the cycle
revolving around
to return once more.
Yet where the grass met the mound
like cracked earth exposed
I see your place
from here to second base
and your sister lies at first
and I stand here at home
watching the final run
as we tried to outrun the touch
the grasp of death,
sliding into the wet dirt tagged,
game over
and I am sadly
defeated.

Thoughts on losing two of my cat companions within a month of each other and seeing their stone resting place like a baseball game. Moxie on first, Meep on second and I have erased third just because home is where we all want to be and I am tired of this field.

Published by

InfiniteZip

I am a sometimes poet on a quest to master the universe of my mind. My writing runs the gamut of nature, off beat, life and basically the world as I see it through the windows of my eyes. Welcome to my blog. Sit a spell in your big comfy armchair or favorite spot and read for a while if it suits and don't forget to leave a comment to let me know who you are and all that jazz. Looking forward to what each day brings and catch you on the flip side of the stars. Peace and blessings.

11 thoughts on “The dying season”

    1. Hi Michael, hard days indeed but the sun is out and I sit here watching the daffodils waving merrily in the wind and beyond the windows the earth is slowly turning greener. Spring begins where winter dies, and the heart will heal with the passage of the days.
      peace and blessings , Kim

      Liked by 1 person

      1. been enjoying your daily challenge pieces. So dearly wanted to do NaPoWriMo but with the pets sick, work amazingly busy, did not feel I could do it justice. Hopefully next time round. Keep up your writing too, its nice to see again the daily posts.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This was sad to read and to further understand the source of this sad reflection but I rarely am fortunate enough to read such a beautiful expression of that sadness. I am left with the feeling that their lives were too short but in that time they were loved for every day they lived. I wonder how many sentient beings can make such a claim. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I wish for you peace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, 16 years and 11 years and the time always goes by so very quickly. There is beauty in everything including the loss of something loved yet i’ve always believed that life is just a temporary stretch in the universe and things come into our paths to teach us something. There is a purpose for everything and it is how we grow. Sadness sucks unfortunately but their lives filled my world with a happy peace. There will be others after them and someday too I will rejoin the tribe…hopefully not for a very long time as I am still trying to find my purpose…I often think my writing of words has something to do with it. I thank you for your comment as It is always refreshing to know that someone understands what I am putting forth and it makes me smile in joy. Peace and blessings to you my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are letters of love, please share yours...

