And I sang

In the midst of the swirling water
I sat among the mermaids
And I sang to Neptune’s ghost
To take me in his arms
As the water crashed around me
I remained dry below the sun
Had he not heard
My siren call
Below in his bed
Comforted by the kelp and dolphins,
Did he sleep soundly
With sweet dreams surrounding
His old tired soul.
I slipped into the blue
Under skies clear and smiling
Amongst the flickers of color
I became one with the schools
Of sea babies swimming
Eyes that gazed knowing
The depths of my heart.
I sang the sounds of years
Of longing for this sea
The hymn of mermaids lost
I drifted on waves
Pulling me towards
The reef of Kings.
I felt the push from below
Raising me to the cresting throne
I am coming home.

Published by

InfiniteZip

I am a sometimes poet on a quest to master the universe of my mind. My writing runs the gamut of nature, off beat, life and basically the world as I see it through the windows of my eyes. Welcome to my blog. Sit a spell in your big comfy armchair or favorite spot and read for a while if it suits and don't forget to leave a comment to let me know who you are and all that jazz. Looking forward to what each day brings and catch you on the flip side of the stars. Peace and blessings.

12 thoughts on “And I sang”

      1. Still trying to think of the mermaid/merman poem/story we learned in High School…where the merman and their child came to the window of the church and looked in from the outside…while the mermaid insisted upon staying in her new life on land. Do you remember hearing/seeing it?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No, first I’ve heard of that one….I,think I’d rather be free than locked in to walls myself….moving to the ocean in a few months…heard Neptune’s call😊🐠🐳

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too….just have the Sharks be elsewhere of course….πŸ˜ƒ and snake-like thingies too….smiles and bubblesπŸ˜ŠπŸ’¦πŸ¬πŸ³πŸŸπŸ πŸ‹πŸš

      Like

Comments are letters of love, please share yours...

