Flowers and friends

White petals dance on the wind
I stand beside the loveliness
as a thousand bees dance
for my eyes and senses
the air moved by the humming song
as they flit about petal to petal
and I hold motionless listening
to the orchestra of insects
alive and gathering
to survive.
Nikolai would be proud
as the air became movement in song
a concerto for one
buzz buzz
buzzing here and there
these tiny creatures
flying close to my head
sensing not a flower
perhaps a new tree standing there
in their midst
and they go about their day
as I hold this moment here in mine,
and I smile quietly at this gift
under a summer sky
amongst flowers and friends
feeling as one.

We have a huge bush with delicate white flowers covering it and the sound of humming drew me close to see hundreds of bees just feasting on the nectar….lovely sound and image but I wonder if this is why the hummingbirds have suddenly gone scarce?

Published by

InfiniteZip

I am a sometimes poet on a quest to master the universe of my mind. My writing runs the gamut of nature, off beat, life and basically the world as I see it through the windows of my eyes. Welcome to my blog. Sit a spell in your big comfy armchair or favorite spot and read for a while if it suits and don't forget to leave a comment to let me know who you are and all that jazz. Looking forward to what each day brings and catch you on the flip side of the stars. Peace and blessings.

18 thoughts on “Flowers and friends”

    1. Hanks Kat, cool weather blew in last night….more refreshing and much better to sleep to….actually used only an overhead fan and a real live blanket too….seems like ages since comfortable weather. Have an amazing day too my friend๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  1. Nice vision. Count your blessings about the bees. They’re disappearing in France and Europe. here in Mexico, I see less. And bees account for close to 80% of vegetal pollinization. Come to think of it, we used to have quite a number of humming birds in the garden, not so many lately. Hmmm.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My father tried feeding the hummers as I like to call them and then found a spider taking refuge on their feeder. So he figures they are not fond of them and I figure bees filling the air with their lovely song didn’t help much either. Hubby thinks it is because we are unseasonably warm (88 degrees today). I think they are just smart and moving south early after last years fun winter ๐Ÿ™‚ Cooler the rest of this week so we shall see if they resurface. I get the same family of them every year it seems. Suck the feeder dry within a few days….keeps me busy….I guess they’re kind of like my kids ๐Ÿ™‚
      thanks so much, K

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re most welcome. Enjoy the heat. I personally am in favour of global warming. That will make a lot of cold places “up North” much more pleasant. Think Sweden or Canada… ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Brrrr…I like the heat too…used to hate it as having cancer gave me hot flashes. Good to go again and looking forward to the beauty of sunshine and warmth to early arthritic jointsโ˜€๏ธ๐Ÿ˜Š have a splendid day๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hi Kim. I had just realized my confusion with another blogger (Robin). Toutes mes excuses. Wiring is beginning to send sparkles I guess. Florida in September and December must be grand. Enjoy. Relax. above all enjoy the sea. Just don’t forget to lock Snoopy’s house and the Van Gogh inside. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Brian

        Liked by 1 person

      4. No worries, I got a chuckle out of it…and snoopy comes with and hubby stays home to tend the house. Mother daughter trip this time round. Raining today…been comfortable tempt wise…and great sleeping weather for setting dreams to life๐Ÿ˜Š have a great weekend Brian , K

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Haha! As a matter of fact, she almost does get killed in two novels. But since she’s a fighter, against all odds she makes it! ๐Ÿ™‚
        (Apart from the fact she is one my favourite characters, I also need her for future stories.)
        Be good Kim

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Very peaceful and beautiful poem. You’re so brave for standing next to all those bees! I thought of you today when I saw a pretty yellow butterfly outside with this tiny yellow butterfly next to it (I’m guessing it was the bigger one’s baby?). Hope you have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much B, what a splendid image…butterflies….I love them but I think with the seasons changing here, they are drifting off to their next destination. I have always had a slight fear of bees but I think with the droning of their hum, they had better things to be doing than bothering with me so I just stood there silently for about ten minutes watching them drift about. they were everywhere…always makes for good writing later but it is one of those moments in life you look back on and remember fondly…now if they had stung me….not so much I think. Nice young couple for the house showing. I just figured let it be, what will be will be….get it? bee…,be…..chuckling out loud. Funny Kim ๐Ÿ™‚
      Have a great night filled with peaceful happy dreams my friend.
      K ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! I actually got stung by a bee once, but it was really weird! I was with my mom going to my aunts and I was talking and all of a sudden this bee flew in the window and stung the side of my middle finger! I think it was a baby though, because while it hurt, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it’d be. Hope you have a great night! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. haha, you too?? I thought Mooses just made snorty noises and stampeded poor unsuspecting tourists trying to get selfies? It’s funny, there were so many and I wasn’t afraid…they were just doing there thing singing to me. Way cool.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are letters of love, please share yours...

